Cat is out of the box…

Therapy for the neurotic woman in me… I am not sure if I talked about this on the post that I didn’t publish… Many of you wonder how I have time to take care of twins, work, cook, knit and crochet… So it’s time to let the cat out of the box… I am not an Angelina Jolie in disguise… I don’t take care of kids on my own -neither does she-, and look fabulous at the same time (Angie is a winner in this case)…  I am a “jack of all trades, master at none”… I like doing things and stuff and I like doing “different” things… Except for my housewife, wife and mother role I have to say, none of the above is a priority… I just do it when I have time… Also I have a great helper… Not because he sometimes reads this blog, but because it’s true and known… My husband is a great helper around the house and for sharing the care of the kids…

I also have a great brother in law, who my kids adore, who is a great cook and also a great babysitter, dogsitter and housesitter… In addition to this, I have great friends who help me and my husband constantly. When we go out to visit them or when they come, I don’t have to do anything they do everything…

So with all the leftover energy, I cook, I knit, and I crochet… Especially during the cold winter months when we are mostly inside… Yesterday, I was working on blanket number 2 -which will be referenced here shortly-, and I just didn’t like it… So I frogged it… Both my husband and BIL (brother in law) couldn’t believe it, and tried to talk me out of it… I frogged it with a smile and continued from where I left off… 5 minutes later my husband looked at me again… I guess he was trying to figure out why on earth I was going through so much trouble making this blanket at this day and age, where I could buy one much better and much prettier for less cost (yarn is expensive people, because it’s not made in China) …. then I think he had an “awakening” moment and said “I guess this knitting thing is like fishing”… hmmm… that also made sense to me, in a way sometimes the people closer to you know your “crazy stuff” and find meaning in them…

Actually, I tend to cook, clean and knit more when I the times are stressful… I guess it is something that I can focus on, that by each knot, by each garment, something is in my control and I am mostly happy with it… or if I am not happy I can change it…

Here are a few project of the last few weeks… here’s “THE CAT”…

The Cat

The Cat


She is a trial cat, my first ever crochet toy.. I am planning to make a good one for a close friend who loves cats and this one was just to get practice… Kids love it and call her name all the time!!! You can find the pattern for this cat and some more at http://www.crochetkitten.com/

The other projects mean a lot more to me… Two close friends are expecting baby girls… one is due in January and her blanket had to be finished first… It turned out very good, and it was really fun to make… I used Vanna’s choice yarn by Lion Brand… the color options are beautiful… so this is “Sophia’s blanket”, and it’s made with much love…

Sophia's Blanket

Sophia's Blanket

The pattern for this blanket can be found under http://www.ravelry.com. Ravelry is an online crochet and knitting society… It’s a free service and it’s a knitters dream come true. However, you have a wait a few days to become a member since their server is swamped and can only accept limited number of members each day… If you are a knitter you should be on there, don’t waste time!!!

Blanket number 2, is in the works… picture will be coming soon… it’s for the spring baby girl… it’s almost the same theme, similar colors… it’s still in my hands… I put the finishing touches on Sophia’s blanket on the day I heard my Mom’s passing, and started Baby #2’s blanket the next day. So both blankets are very important to me… and helped me so much through the grief process…

Crunchy and yummy...

Crunchy and yummy...

And just to add some New Year cheer, here’s my perfectly addictive “meringue cookies”… you cannot get away with eating one… they are so easy to make… just wait until you have a recipe that calls for “egg yolks”.. and use the whites for this recipe… it’s a guaranteed winner with everyone and here’s the link for the recipe… the secret is to bake it in low temperature, 100 C or 200-250 F for at least 45 minutes… http://www.teatime-blog.com/turkce/2006/01/22/karamelli-damla-beze/ 

I will post English translation under my blog soon…

Happy New Year to everyone. It has definetely been a bittersweet holiday season for me… I cannot express my gratitude with words for the friends and family who called, emailed and left comments…

Until next time…. Love and many hugs, g.

One response to “Cat is out of the box…

  1. Bezenin yumurtanin beyazinjdan yapildigini biliyordum ama kolay ve bu kadar guzel gorunecegini (ev yapimi)tahmin edemezdim.
    Battaniyenin motifine de bayildim.Bu arada hala super kadin oldugun fikrinde sabitim her seyi sen yapmasan da hayatinin her alaninda sana yardimci olacak insanlari hayatina sokman ve tutabilmenlede nekadar harika oldugun bir kez daha ispatlaniyor :))
    mucx

Leave a Reply

