lace shawl…

sal_6This was my first attempt at a lace project. I joined a knit-a-long on ravelry.com. I made this shawl for my mother-in-law… Honestly, I am proud of how it turned out… yet again, I have to give almost all of the credit to the designer… She posted this pattern for free on her blog and helped us along the way… Every 2 weeks or so she posted a new “clue”… That’s what is the most fun in a knit-a-long I guess… You knit, then you wait in excitement for the next design… of course when in the hands of such a great designer, each clue was perfect and challenging… Thank you lankakomero… and thank you everyone who answered my questions about blocking, frogging, lifelines,etc… i think I am hooked on lace and can’t wait to start my next project… I am honored to announce that I have been asked to knit a shawl for a friend’s wedding… we are going to select her yarn today… deadline is pretty managable I think (I don’t want to jinx it). it is due in november… stay tuned for more lace from me…sal_4

Vernal Equinox Shawl Surprise by Lankakomero (each clue is still on her website)
Yarn: Jaggerspun Zephyr Wool-Silk 2/18
Color: Ruby, 1.5 balls (Each ball 630 yards)
Needles: US 5 circular 24″

I used “garter stitch” bind off variation… I knitted 3 rows of garter stitch and bind off with US size 8 needles to make the edge loose enough for blocking…

And photo courtesy goes to my very talented brother in law… My projects wouldn’t look as nice if it wasn’t for him. He takes pictures when I ask him right then and there… I know the light wasn’t ideal, but he did such a good job… Thanks Bora…

Until nex time… g.

4 responses to “lace shawl…

  1. Looks awesome! Congratulations.I wish i had 1/3 of your talent… and patience… 😉

  2. Wow. That is one of the most beautiful shawls I have ever seen. Great job!

  3. Your shawl is SO beautiful!!! Wonderful hand knitting 🙂 The color is delicious, too.

Leave a comment